Reading Time: < 1 minute


The revised secondary school curriculum for public schools will reduce the number of core subjects students must take, from 11 to eight.

From August, pupils entering grades 10 and 11 will have to sign up for eight core subjects, almost half of which will be science, technology, engineering and maths (Stem) subjects.

Pupils will have 21 periods of compulsory maths, compulsory physics and two elective Stem subjects. For the remaining 24 periods, a mix of compulsory subjects will be taken in humanities, language and speech communication, health, and one ungraded period in a support and advising class, where students will learn test-taking skills and receive career counselling.